Carl W. Anderson (1944-2020)
We are sad to report that our valued colleague and long-time board member, Carl W. Anderson, has passed away. Carl was a strong advocate for the Chapel Hill Historical Society and worked tirelessly on its behalf. As a board member, Carl served in numerous capacities, including vice-president and part of our long-term planning committee. He provided leadership on a variety of projects, including documenting past presidents of the society, digitizing our archive of newsletters, and developing our web-based timeline of Chapel Hill history.
More recently, Carl was the driving force behind the update and re-publication of The Campus at Chapel Hill: 225 Years of Architecture. From the initial suggestion to update this unique book about UNC to final editing and publication, Carl managed all aspects of this project. He secured the services of UNC Art Historian JJ Bauer to write the addendum and worked with her to identify and photograph the buildings included in that addendum. He also helped to arrange the forward by Carol Folt, the eleventh chancellor of the university, and to secure a short-term loan from the Federation of North Carolina Historical Societies to provide financial support. At the time of his death, Carl was actively involved in the research for and writing of The Copperline Chronicles: A History of the Kings Mill and Morgan Creek Neighborhoods that the Chapel Hill Historical Society will publish later this winter.
Carl’s wife, Mary, previously served on our board, and his sister, Lois Annab, is a current board member and chairs our program committee.
We will greatly miss Carl’s wise counsel and leadership. For those who may wish to honor Carl, the family has suggested that donations can be made to the Chapel Hill Historical Society or the North Carolina Botanical Garden.