Chapel Hill Historical Society

Mission / Purpose

The Chapel Hill Historical Society was founded to research and document the history of Chapel Hill and the surrounding communities, to encourage and assist in the study of local history, and to provide public programs and publications related to the heritage and traditions of the area. To learn more about our history read "Celebrating 50 years of Serving the Communities of Chapel Hill, Carrboro, and Orange County." You can read biographies of our past officers and board members here. To learn about our current activities and plans for the future, read our Annual Report.

Operating Year: January - December 2020

Board Members
Board Member: Lois Annab
Board Member: Christina Benson
Board Member: William Burlingame
Board Member: Carl Anderson
Board Member: Patrick Oglesby
Board member: Ms. Barbara Pipkin
Board Member: Kimberly Talikoff
Board Member: Ms. Valerie Yow
President: Sarah Geer
Secretary: Ms. Marsha Jepsen
Treasurer: Thomas Jepsen
Vice President: Richard Ellington
Staff: Ms. Julie Wiker

Office Hours and Location

Hours (beginning January 2):  Society Office Location:
Closed Monday Lower Level of Chapel Hill Public Library,
12:30-4:00pm Tuesday and Wednesday 100 Library Drive, Chapel Hill, NC 27514
10:00am-2:00pm Thursday  
12:00-5:00pm Friday Mailing Address:
10:00am-2:00pm Saturday Chapel Hill Historical Society
Closed Sunday P.O. 9032
We will be closed for the winter holiday Chapel Hill, NC 27515
from December 23 until January .2  
Phone:  1 (919) 929-1793